Office of the Provost


Frederick Bettelheim Research Awards

The Frederick Bettelheim Research Award is awarded annually to a junior faculty member in the natural sciences.

As Adelphi’s Distinguished Research Professor in the Natural Sciences and later as Emeritus Professor of Chemistry, Dr. Bettelheim compiled a meritorious record of scientific research. For that reason, this award of $1,200 will be in the form of a grant to further the research of an untenured faculty member in the natural sciences (Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science, Physics, Mathematics and Computer Science), and relates to work that is not being primarily financed by private industry, is public in nature, is not proprietary corporate research, and will be or has potential to be published in a respected scholarly journal.

This award is made possible by a generous gift in 2004 from Dr. Bettelheim’s wife and son, Vera and Adriel Bettelheim.

Past Award Recipients

2016 – Dempsey Hyatt

2014 – Jessica Dutton, Brian Stockman, Melissa VanAlstine-Parris, Matthew Wright

2011 – Aram Stump

2009 – Matthias Foellmer

2007 – Tandra Chakraborty

2006 – Justyna Widera


For further information, please contact:

Office of the Provost
p – 516.877.3160

Apply Now
Request Information